560 CFOS

560 CFOS

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Heritage Award Recipients in South Bruce Peninsula

South Bruce Peninsula | by John Divinski  

Winners are Bill Stewart along with Elsie Christensen, Jorn Christensen and Dave McCowan

Image of the Reckin House from nomination report  

Multiple people are going to share in two South Bruce Peninsula Heritage Awards for 2020.

Council has approved that Bill Stewart receive one award for his heritage work.

Stewart, who grew up in Hepworth, has served his community in many ways, including spending countless hours of research, compiling, designing, writing and editing historical publications and mentoring authors.

His nominator says he has made a tremendous contribution to the preservation of the heritage of South Bruce Peninsula.

The second award will be shared by three people Jorn and Elsie Christensen along with Dave McCowan.

The Christensen's and their builder Dave McCowan have renovated the Reckin House on Berford Street in Wiarton.

For a number of years, the home has undergone extensive renovations bringing the historic house back to its glory.

It has also been recognized province-wide for work done on it.

See a nomination presentation for the Reckin House Restoration HERE

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc